Golf Classic Raises $310,000, Honors Blank

Golf Classic Raises $310,000, Honors Blank


Arthur Blank (L) and Harry Maziar at this year's annual golf tourney sponsored by the MJCCA. PHOTO / MJCCA
Arthur Blank (L) and Harry Maziar at this year’s annual golf tourney sponsored by the MJCCA. PHOTO / MJCCA

The Marcus Jewish Community Center of Atlanta (MJCCA) honored Atlanta community leader Arthur Blank at its annual golf tournament, the Harry Maziar Classic, on May 20 at the beautiful Hawks Ridge Golf Club. The fundraising goal of $250,000 was exceeded considerably, as the final figure ended up at $310,000; proceeds help to enhance vital programs and services that impact the lives of more than 55,000 people every year.

[emember_protected custom_msg=”TO CONTINUE READING THIS STORY, PLEASE <a href=””>CLICK HERE</a>” ]

Blank was chosen for this 2013 edition in appreciation of his dedication and leadership in shaping Atlanta’s vibrant Jewish community. Though most frequently in the news for his work as owner/chairman of the Atlanta Falcons and co-founder of The Home Depot, he is equally devoted to philanthropy.

The hugely successful tournament, co-chaired by Ron Brill and Howard Halpern, benefits the Center’s efforts in Alzheimer’s daycare services, programming for people with developmental disabilities, preschools, sports leagues, summer camps and much more.

“This year’s Harry Maziar Classic exceeded all expectations in every way,” Gail Luxenberg, MJCCA CEO, said. “Not only were we thrilled to honor Arthur Blank, but were so grateful to have Ron Brill and Howard Halpern as such dedicated and involved event chairs.”

Here are the tournament results: Top Winning Teams: First place net score: Chad Burchfield, Adam Burnside, Shaun Camay, Ben Wilson; Second place net score: Todd Bomchel, Bert Rosenthal, Jason Smith, Dustin Walsey; Third place net score: Stephen McDonnold, Derek Smith, Tanner Smith, Ron Whited; Fourth place net score: Gus Cawley, Casey Hudson, Bob Jacobson, Jim Ziegelbauer; Winner, putting contest: Bert Rosenthal; Winner, longest drive (male): Tanner Smith; Winner, longest drive (female): Emily White


read more: